12 finalists announced for ‘Academic Heisman’

With the college football season preparing for the final stretch, we are about to enter award season. The preseason watchlists will soon be cut down to semifinalists and finalists, before the winners are announced.

However, one award is ahead of the curve.

On Friday morning, a dozen finalists were announced for the “Academic Heisman” award, officially known as the 2015 William V. Campbell Trophy.

The Campbell Trophy “recognizes an individual as the absolute best football scholar-athlete in the nation.”

This year’s list of finalists includes players from the FBS, FCS and and Division II levels.

“We are extremely proud to announce this year’s finalists for the Campbell Trophy, who make up the National Scholar-Athlete Class,” NFF president & CEO Steve Hatchell said in a statement.

“These young men have an unrelenting commitment to excellence in all aspects of their lives, and they represent all that is right in college football. They serve as living examples of our mission of Building Leaders Through Football, and we are excited to be able to honor their hard work and accomplishments with postgraduate scholarships.”

All of the finalists will receive an $18,000 postgraduate scholarship for being named on the list, while the winner will receive an additional $8,000.

Check out the full list below, via College Football Talk.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!