Three Big 12ers headline Biletnikoff Award semifinalists

The semifinalists for this year’s Fred Biletnikoff Award have been released, and three are from the high-scoring Big 12: Baylor’s Corey Coleman, TCU’s Josh Doctson and Oklahoma’s Sterling Shepard.

The award, given annually to the nation’s best wide receiver, has been awarded to a number of great players including Amari Cooper, who won last year, along with Larry Fitzgerald and Michael Crabtree.

All three Big 12 receivers are deserving of the award. Coleman has been the Bears’ top wideout and has 61 catches for 1,229 yards and 20 touchdowns on the year. Depending on how the rest of the season goes, he could easily break former West Virginia standout Stedman Bailey’s record of 25 touchdown catches.

And then there’s Doctson, who has thrived in TCU’s air-raid offense. He has 79 catches for 1,327 yards and 14 touchdowns, but has been slowed by injuries the past two weeks.

The wild card, however, is Shepard. He only has 61 catches for 1,003 yards and nine scores, but Oklahoma is in the thick of the Big 12 race with games against TCU and Oklahoma State to round out the schedule. If he can put together solid games over the next two weeks, he could definitely improve his case.

The full list of semifinalists can be seen below, per NBC Sports.

  • Corey Coleman, Baylor
  • Josh Doctson, TCU
  • William Fuller, Notre Dame
  • Roger Lewis, Bowling Green
  • Gabe Marks, Washington State
  • Tajae Sharpe, UMass
  • Sterling Shepard, Oklahoma
  • JuJu Smith-Schuster, USC
  • Taywan Taylor, Western Kentucky
  • Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Connor Cook shoots down rumors about shoulder