12 finalists announced for Manning Award

A dozen finalists have been announced for the Manning Award, given annually by the AllState Sugar Bowl “in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.”

To be clear, this is an award different than the Davey O’Brien Award, given each year to the nation’s top quarterback. Just the same, the 12 finalists this season have gone above and beyond to prove that they are worthy of this trophy. Archie Manning offered the following in a statement:

“I am very pleased with this outstanding group that was selected as our finalists. I appreciate the time and expertise of our voting panel who made the effort to get us to these final 12. The skills and accomplishments of some very impressive young men who didn’t make the finalist list shows just how competitive it is to be selected. Now we get to see how these guys do on an even bigger stage – conference championship games and bowl games.”

Here are the finalists:

  • Brandon Allen, Arkansas
  • Trevone Boykin, TCU
  • Connor Cook, Michigan State
  • Brandon Doughty, Western Kentucky
  • Kevin Hogan, Stanford
  • Chad Kelly, Ole Miss
  • Paxton Lynch, Memphis
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
  • Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
  • Keenan Reynolds, Navy
  • Greg Ward, Jr., Houston
  • Deshaun Watson, Clemson

What do you think, fans? Which of these dozen should win the award? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below!

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports