MAC announces awards for 2015 season

The regular season has come to an end, and the Mid-American Conference (MAC) has revealed all of its postseason awards, including the All-MAC teams.

Starting with the individual awards, the Coach of the Year went to Toledo’s Matt Campbell. Campbell’s victory was no surprise after leading the Rockets to a 9-2 record this season as well as time inside the Top 25 rankings. He recently took a job as head coach of the Iowa State Cyclones.

The Offensive Player of the Year went to Bowling Green quarterback Matt Johnson who threw for 4,465 yards and 41 touchdowns. He also won the Vern Smith Leadership Award. Defensive Player of the Year went to linebacker Jatavis Brown of Akron. Brown led the Zips with 108 tackles, 10.5 sacks and 17.5 tackles for loss. Other award winners include Western Michigan running back Jamauri Bogan as Freshman of the Year, and Aregeros Turner of Northern Illinois as Special Teams Player of the Year.

The All-MAC teams can be found below.


2015 All-MAC First Team Offense
Quarterback – Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Offensive Linemen – Storm Norton, Toledo
Offensive Linemen – Andrew Ness, Northern Illinois
Offensive Lineman – Willie Beavers, Western Michigan
Offensive Linemen – Nick Beamish, Central Michigan
Offensive Linemen – Aidan Conlon, Northern Illinois
Tight End – Matt Weiser, Buffalo
Wide Receiver – Roger Lewis, Bowling Green
Wide Receiver – Corey Davis, Western Michigan
Wide Receiver – Tajae Sharpe, UMass
Wide Receiver – Daniel Braverman, Western Michigan
Running Back – Joel Bouagnon, Northern Illinois
Running Back – Travis Greene, Bowling Green
Placekicker – Christian Hagan, Northern Illinois

2015 All-MAC First Team Defense
Outside Linebacker – Jatavis Brown, Akron
Outside Linebacker – Sean Wiggins, Ball State
Inside Linebacker – Boomer Mays, Northern Illinois
Inside Linebacker – Austin Valdez, Bowling Green
Down Lineman – Orion Jones, Toledo
Down Lineman – Perez Ford, Northern Illinois
Down Lineman – Joshua Posley, Ball State
Down Lineman – Terence Waugh, Kent State
Defensive Back – Shawun Lurry, Northern Illinois
Defensive Back – Nate Holley, Kent State
Defensive Back – Cheatham Norrils, Toledo
Defensive Back – Demetrius Monday, Kent State
Punter – Joe Davidson, Bowling Green

2015 All-MAC First Team Specialists
Kickoff Return Specialist – Aregeros Turner, Northern Illinois
Punt Return Specialist – Corey Jones, Toledo


2015 All-MAC Second Team Offense
Quarterback – Cooper Rush, Central Michigan
Offensive Lineman – Alex Huettel, Bowling Green
Offensive Lineman – Jacob Richard, Ball State
Offensive Lineman – Levon Myers, Northern Illinois
Offensive Lineman – Jacob Bennett, Bowling Green
Offensive Lineman – John Kling, Buffalo
Tight End – Ben McCord, Central Michigan
Wide Receiver – Jordan Williams, Ball State
Wide Receiver – Kenny Golladay, Northern Illinois
Wide Receiver – Gehrig Dieter, Bowling Green
Wide Receiver – Alonzo Russell, Toledo
Running Back – Kareem Hunt, Toledo
Running Back – Terry Swanson, Toledo
Placekicker – Brian Eavey, Central Michigan

2015 All-MAC Second Team Defense
Outside Linebacker – Trent Greene, Bowling Green
Outside Linebacker – Brandon Berry, Buffalo
Inside Linebacker – Great Ibe, Eastern Michigan
Inside Linebacker – Jovan Santos-Knox, UMass
Down Lineman – Allen Covington, Toledo
Down Lineman – Blake Serpa, Central Michigan
Down Lineman – Bryson Albright, Miami
Down Lineman – Cody Grice, Akron
Defensive Back – Darius Phillips, Western Michigan
Defensive Back – Kavon Frazier, Central Michigan
Defensive Back – Ian Wells, Ohio
Defensive Back – Ronald Zamort, Western Michigan
Punter – Anthony Melchiori, Kent State

2015 All-MAC Second Team Specialists
Kickoff Return Specialist – Darius Phillips, Western Michigan
Punt Return Specialist – Trey Dudley-Giles, UMass


2015 All-MAC Third Team Offense
Quarterback – Zach Terrell, Western Michigan
Offensive Lineman – Taylor Moton, Western Michigan
Offensive Lineman – Ramadan Ahmeti, Central Michigan
Offensive Lineman – Mike McQueen, Ohio
Offensive Lineman – Lucas Powell, Ohio
Offensive Lineman – Isaiah Williams, Akron
Tight End – Rodney Mills, UMass
Wide Receiver – Jesse Kroll, Central Michigan
Wide Receiver – Ronnie Moore, Bowling Green
Wide Receiver – Sebastian Smith, Ohio
Wide Receiver – KeVonn Mabon, Ball State
Running Back – Jamauri Bogan, Western Michigan
Running Back – Darius Jackson, Eastern Michigan
Placekicker – Andrew Haldeman, Western Michigan

2015 All-MAC Third Team Defense

Outside Linebacker – Okezie Alozie, Buffalo
Outside Linebacker – Trey Seals, UMass
Inside Linebacker – Matt Dellinger, Kent State
Inside Linebacker – Quentin Poling, Ohio
Down Lineman – Jamal Marcus, Akron
Down Lineman – Rodney Coe, Akron
Down Lineman – JT Jones, Miami
Down Lineman – Trent Voss, Toledo
Defensive Back – Asantay Brown, Western Michigan
Defensive Back – Marlon Moore, Northern Illinois
Defensive Back – Boise Ross, Buffalo
Defensive Back – DeJuan Rogers, Toledo
Punter – Logan Laurent, UMass

2015 All-MAC Third Team Specialists
Kickoff Return Specialist – KeVonn Mabon, Ball State
Punt Return Specialist – Ryan Burbrink, Bowling Green

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!