NFL releases full list of Walter Payton Award nominees

Giving back to the community is important, and the NFL prides itself and its players on being a big part of that. As a result, the league annually gives out the Walter Payton Award to recognize players for great work on and off the field. Each team has a nominated player, with the winner being announced the night before the Super Bowl.

Here is this year’s full list of nominees:

Arizona Cardinals: Patrick Peterson

Atlanta Falcons: Patrick DiMarco

Baltimore Ravens: Steve Smith Sr.

Buffalo Bills: Eric Wood

Carolina Panthers: Greg Olsen

Chicago Bears: Matt Forte

Cincinnati Bengals: Carlos Dunlap

Cleveland Browns: Gary Barnidge

Dallas Cowboys: Brandon Carr

Denver Broncos: David Bruton Jr.

Detroit Lions: Stephen Tulloch

Green Bay Packers: Sam Barrington

Houston Texans: J.J. Watt

Indianapolis Colts: Dwayne Allen

Jacksonville Jaguars: Zane Beadles

Kansas City Chiefs: Eric Berry

Miami Dolphins: Ryan Tannehill

Minnesota Vikings: Chad Greenway

New England Patriots: Devin McCourty

New Orleans Saints: Benjamin Watson

New York Giants: Eli Manning

New York Jets: Eric Decker

Oakland Raiders: Justin Tuck

Philadelphia Eagles: Connor Barwin

Pittsburgh Steelers: Cameron Heyward

San Diego Chargers: Darrell Stuckey

San Francisco 49ers: Anquan Boldin

Seattle Seahawks: Richard Sherman

St. Louis Rams: Chris Long

Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Vincent Jackson

Tennessee Titans: Delanie Walker

Washington Redskins: Ryan Kerrigan

Though each and every one of these players deserves the award, this writer has to throw his hat in the ring for J.J. Watt. I mean, come on. The man went to a children’s hospital and dressed as Batman. That’s just amazing.

Be sure to tune into Campus Sports for when the winner is announced!

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports