Temple LB Tyler Matakevich wins Nagurski Trophy

The Temple Owls finished one of their best seasons in school history with a 10-2 record and an AAC East division championship. Their success was thanks mostly in part to their defense, especially linebacker Tyler Matakevich.

He has been one of the biggest playmakers for the Owls’ defense this year and was awarded for it. According to College Football Talk, Matakevich was awarded the Nagurski Trophy, which symbolizes the nation’s best defensive player, by the Football Writers Association of America Monday night.

Matakevich beat surefire first round draft picks Reggie Ragland and Shaq Lawson, both of whom are on teams playing for a national championship this year, as well as Duke safety Jeremy Cash and Penn State defensive lineman Carl Nassib.

He led his team in tackles every game this season and became just the seventh player in history to record at least 100 tackles every season for four straight years. This was the first time since Houston’s Marcus McGrew did so from 2008-2011.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports