Trevone Boykin headlines list of Tyler Rose finalists

‘Tis the season of giving. Giving out college football awards that is.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award is the latest to release their list of finalists. For those wondering, the Tyler Rose Award goes to the best college football player from the state of Texas, and this year the nominees are headlined by 2014 winner, TCU quarterback Trevone Boykin.

The rest of the nominees include Baylor wide receiver Corey Coleman, TCU wide receiver Josh Doctson, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, and Houston quarterback Greg Ward Jr.

To qualify for the award, which started in 2013, players must be born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four-year Division 1 Texas college.

Former Baylor quarterback Bryce Petty won the inaugural award in 2013.

[H/T: CFT]

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports