Derrick Henry wins 2015 Walter Camp Award

Alabama star running back Derrick Henry has won this year’s Walter Camp Award as the nation’s college football player of the year.

Alabama RB Derrick Henry wins the #WalterCamp award (Player of the Year)

— Ryan Cody (@RyanThomasCody) December 10, 2015

A junior from Florida, Henry led the nation with 1,986 rush yards and 23 touchdowns this season as Alabama rolled to a No. 2 finish in the rankings and a date with Michigan State in the Cotton Bowl, part of the College Football Playoff semifinal. He is the first running back since former Arkansas Razorback Darren McFadden in 2007 to win the award and joins the likes of Bo Jackson, Reggie Bush and Eddie George as talented running backs to win it.

Stay tuned to Campus Sports throughout the night for further awards updates!

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports