SEC Announces New Basketball Scheduling Format

The SEC annual spring meetings are just wrapping up and some interesting basketball news has arisen. The league announced a new format for scheduling when it comes to men’s basketball.

According to SEC Sports, each team in the league will play all thirteen other teams at least once throughout the season. The teams will then play each of their three “permanent opponents” one more time apiece and the final two games will rotate through the remaining conference teams.

The SEC also announced every team’s permanent opponents starting in the 2015-2016 season. The defending SEC regular season and tournament champions, Kentucky, will play Tennessee, Vanderbilt, and Florida twice in the season. Tournament runner-up Arkansas plays Missouri, Texas A&M, and LSU as a permanent opponent.

With the college basketball season just six months away, it is safe to say that fans everywhere are excited.

However, with the Vanderbilt Commodores being slapped with the toughest trio of permanent opponents – Kentucky, Tennessee, and Florida – I can’t say that they are too thrilled.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Germany’s Moritz Wagner Signs NLI, Headed to Michigan
Germany’s Moritz Wagner Signs NLI, Headed to Michigan