Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year watch list announced

So I understand having a watch list for the best individual players in the country. That’s understandable. You expect these players to be the ones to be the ones that stand out above everyone else.

You can’t really expect which coach will have the most success, so how can you have a watch list for a “Coach of the Year” award? Shouldn’t everyone be included on that list?

Somehow, did make a list and it’s full of the usual suspects that you would expect to be on such a list. They released the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Award watch list with twenty-five of the nation’s top coaches from 2014.

On the list are six former winners, including two-time winner Bill Snyder. The other five past winners are Gary Patterson, Paul Johnson, Bob Stoops, Dabo Swinney, and 2014 winner Nick Saban. Eight coaches from the SEC made the list, which was the highest number from one conference.

The Big 12 and Pac 12 each added four coaches onto the list, while the ACC got three and the Big 10 got two. The Mountain West was represented by Bryan Harsin, head coach of the Boise State Broncos, and Brian Kelly with Notre Dame also made the list.

It is going to be an interesting season in 2015 and it will be even more interesting if one of the coaches on the list wins the award. My pick right now would be Jim Harbaugh, who was not on the watch list.

Art Briles, Baylor
Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
Hugh Freeze, Ole Miss
Bryan Harsin, Boise State
Mark Helfrich, Oregon
Paul Johnson, Georgia Tech
Brian Kelly, Notre Dame
Gus Malzahn, Auburn
Urban Meyer, Ohio State
Jim Mora, UCLA
Dan Mullen, Mississippi State
Gary Patterson, TCU
Gary Pinkel, Missouri
Mark Richt, Georgia
Rich Rodriguez, Arizona
Nick Saban, Alabama
Bill Snyder, Kansas State
Steve Spurrier, South Carolina
Bob Stoops, Oklahoma
Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M
Dabo Swinney, Clemson
Kyle Whittingham, Utah

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Read More: