Beth Mowins to be second woman to call NFL game

It is going to be a historic night in the NFL Friday evening when the Oakland Raiders take the field. It doesn’t have anything to do with the action going on down on the field, but it has to do with the press box.

Beth Mowins, who usually does the play-by-play action for ESPN for a myriad of sports, will become the second woman in history to call a NFL football game. USA TODAY’s For the Win shared the news Friday afternoon and it looks like it will be an exciting evening.

Mowins is eager for the night to get underway as she talked with the Associated Press about the history-making moment.

“I think most football play-by-play announcers would love to have that opportunity so certainly I’ll try to make the most of it,” said Mowins, who has been calling college football games on ESPN for a decade. “To be able to do it with the Raiders is pretty cool. I’m friends with Gayle Sierens so it’s pretty cool that it has come back full circle and the opportunity is there for me.”

Gayle Sierens was the first woman to call an NFL game and she has opened the door for female broadcast commentators everywhere. Sierens called her first and only NFL game nearly three decades ago.

Mowins did an interview with the Raiders’ website and she said that she is most excited to see Raiders running back Latavius Murray.

“The worst rushing team in the league last year, they’ve got to have that run game, they’ve made all the moves to establish that,” she said. “I think if they can run the ball this that opens up the playbook for all kinds of creative stuff they can do.”

Joining Mowins in the booth with be former Raiders Tim Brown and Matt Millen. What a historic night and great accomplishment for both Mowins and the NFL.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

MJ made over $500 million from sponsors from 2000-2012
MJ made over $500 million from sponsors from 2000-2012