Veteran journalist Ivan Maisel wins 2016 Bert McGrane Award

It’s not very often that sports journalists are recognized for their awesome work, but most of the time, these people are the ones that bring you the news about all the happenings in the sports world. One of the best journalists has just been given a pretty high honor.

According to the Football Writers Association of America, former president and longtime journalist Ivan Maisel has been recognized as the winner of the 2016 Bert McGrane Award. This is awarded to the individual who has done a great service to their organization or profession and has been since 1974.

Maisel has been honored with multiple awards in his career and even served as the FWAA’s president in 1995. He couldn’t be more honored to given this honor

“I can’t imagine an award more worthy than one selected by your peers,” Maisel said. “The Bert McGrane Award winners are featured in the College Football Hall of Fame, and there can’t be anything cooler than that.”

There certainly isn’t. Congratulations, Ivan.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Texans sign Devon Still
Texans sign Devon Still