Derrick Brooks headlines College Football Hall of Fame class of 2016

The 2016 College Football Hall of Fame class has been revealed and it is full of talented players and coaches. The new class features 16 former players and coaches and they are certainly deserving of their distinguished honor.

The new class was revealed at the JW Marriott Scottsdale Camelback Inn, the media hotel for the College Football Playoff. Former UNLV quarterback Randall Cunningham and former Harvard tight end Pat McInally were in attendance for the announcement. McInally, former LSU quarterback Bert Jones, and former Purdue defensive back Rod Woodson will all represent the 2016 class at the national championship game between Clemson and Alabama on Monday.

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments.”

Here is the full list of players and coaches to be named to this year’s class:


MARLIN BRISCOE – QB, Nebraska Omaha (1964-67)
DERRICK BROOKS – LB, Florida State (1991-94)
TOM COUSINEAU – LB, Ohio State (1975-78)
TROY DAVIS – TB, Iowa State (1994-96)
WILLIAM FULLER – DT, North Carolina (1981-83)
BERT JONES – QB, LSU (1970-72)
TIM KRUMRIE – DL, Wisconsin (1979-82)
PAT McINALLY – TE, Harvard (1972-74)
HERB ORVIS – DE, Colorado (1969-71)
BILL ROYCE – LB, Ashland (Ohio) (1990-93)
MIKE UTLEY – OG, Washington State (1985-88)
SCOTT WOERNER – DB, Georgia (1977-80)
ROD WOODSON – DB, Purdue (1983-86)


BILL BOWES – 175-106-5 (62.1%); New Hampshire (1972-98)
FRANK GIRARDI – 257-97-5 (72.3%); Lycoming (Pa.) (1972-2007)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to

Clemson-Alabama championship envelopes available
Clemson-Alabama championship envelopes available