Virginia men’s tennis repeats as national champions

The Virginia Cavaliers are national champions yet again.

On Tuesday, the Virginia men’s tennis team won its second-straight NCAA title at the Michael D. Case Tennis Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma. To earn consecutive national championships, Virginia topped Oklahoma, 4-1.

Tuesday’s win gives the Cavaliers three national titles in four years.

Interestingly enough, last year’s championship also came by way of a 4-1 victory over Oklahoma. Virginia’s first men’s tennis championship came in 2013.

The full results for singles and doubles competition can be seen below:

Singles competition
1. #97 Andrew Harris (OU) def. #8 Ryan Shane (VA) 7-6 (7-3), 6-0
2. #33 Collin Altamirano (VA) vs. #25 Axel Alvarez Llamas (OU) 5-7, 3-4, unfinished
3. #9 Thai-Son Kwiatkowski (VA) def. #82 Spencer Papa (OU) 6-4, 6-4
4. #78 Alexander Ritschard (VA) vs. #61 Alex Ghilea (OU) 6-1, 1-6, 5-2, unfinished
5. #110 J.C. Aragone (VA) def. Florin Bragusi (OU) 6-3, 6-4
6. Henrik Wiersholm (VA) def. Andre Biro (OU) 6-2, 7-6 (7-2)

Doubles competition
1. #4 Luca Corinteli/Ryan Shane (VA) def. #24 Axel Alvarez Llamas/Andrew Harris (OU) 7-5
2. Alex Ghilea/Spencer Papa (OU) def. #16 Thai-Son Kwiatkowski/Mac Styslinger (VA) 7-5
3. J.C. Aragone/Collin Altamirano (VA) def. Andre Biro/Austin Siegel (OU) 6-1
Order of finish: Doubles (3,2,1); Singles (5,3,1,6)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to NCAA/Twitter

NCAA Softball Super Regionals 2016: Complete TV schedule
NCAA Softball Super Regionals 2016: Complete TV schedule
Read More: