2015 Missouri football team to be honored by ESPN

The Missouri Tigers struggled throughout the 2015 season as they finished 5-7 and declined a bowl invitation. However, it wasn’t their play on the field that showed them being a strong and unified unit.

Near the end of the season, the team banded together and staged a protest of a game against BYU amid escalating racial tensions on campus. The protest lasted until university president Tim Wolfe stepped down from his post with the school.

The team will be honored by receiving the Stuart Scott ENSPIRE Award from ESPN during a special ceremony on July 12. They will receive the award along with New England Patriots owner Robert Kraft and tennis legend Billie Jean King.

This is certainly a huge honor for the Missouri Tigers, who inspired their entire campus. They will hope to use this as another means of inspiration for the entire city of Columbia.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

2016 ACC football season preview and predictions
2016 ACC football season preview and predictions