Leonard Fournette, Myles Garrett headline preseason All-SEC team

The SEC has been one of the more dominant conferences over the last decade or so and it looks like they will be much of the same this year. On Friday, the media released its preseason All-SEC teams for the 2016 season, which was headlined by players like LSU running back Leonard Fournette and Texas A&M defensive end Myles Garrett.

The teams were pretty loaded with it not coming as a surprise with Ole Miss quarterback Chad Kelly and Alabama wide receiver Calvin Ridley leading the offense along with Fournette.

The defense was headed up by Garrett, Alabama linebacker Reuben Foster and Florida cornerback Jalen Tabor.

For all three teams, the two favorites in the conference this year, Alabama and LSU, both landed 10 players apiece. Georgia came in a close second with seven selections this year.

It should be an exciting year for the SEC this year and I would expect Leonard Fournette and Myles Garrett to be some big pieces in the conference along with all the other players named this year.

The full team can be seen below:


(Total points earned in parenthesis)(331 total voters)



QB       Chad Kelly, Ole Miss (321)

RB        Leonard Fournette, LSU (329) 

RB        Nick Chubb, Georgia (308)

WR      Calvin Ridley, Alabama (318)

WR      Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (223)

TE        O.J. Howard, Alabama (294)

OL        Cam Robinson, Alabama (315)

OL        Dan Skipper, Arkansas (228)

OL        Greg Pyke, Georgia (171)

OL        Alex Kozan, Auburn (165)

C          Ethan Pocic, LSU (188) 


QB       Joshua Dobbs, Tennessee (313)

RB        Jalen Hurd, Tennessee (278)

RB        Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt (151)

WR      Malachi Dupre, LSU (167)

WR      Fred Ross, Mississippi State (139)

TE        Evan Engram, Ole Miss (214)

OL       Martez Ivey, Florida (152)

OL        William Clapp, LSU (143)

OL        David Sharpe, Florida (138)

OL        Alphonse Taylor, Alabama (137)

C          Brandon Kublanow, Georgia (121)


QB       Brandon Harris, LSU (25) 

RB        Stanley “Boom” Williams, Kentucky (60)

RB        Jovon Robinson, Auburn (55)

WR      Ricky Seals-Jones, Texas A&M (78)

WR      Drew Morgan, Arkansas (49)

TE        Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas (65)

OL        Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M (120)

OL       Jashon Robertson, Tennessee (119)

OL       Braden Smith, Auburn (118)

OL       Javon Patterson, Ole Miss (113)

C         Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama (101)



DL        Jonathan Allen, Alabama (301)

DL        Myles Garrett, Texas A&M (286)

DL        Carl Lawson, Auburn (253)

DL        Derek Barnett, Tennessee (171)

LB        Reuben Foster, Alabama (265)

LB        Kendell Beckwith, LSU (231)

LB        Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee (223)

DB       Eddie Jackson, Alabama (293)

DB       Jalen Tabor, Florida (249)

DB       Tre’Davious White, LSU (221) 

DB       Cameron Sutton, Tennessee (213)


DL        Montravius Adams, Auburn (167)

DL        Bryan Cox, Florida (105)

DL        Davon Godchaux, LSU (105)

DL        Charles Harris, Missouri (103)

LB        Tim Williams, Alabama (196)

LB        Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt (178)

LB        Jarrad Davis, Florida (160)

DB       Jamal Adams, LSU (193)

DB       Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (188)

DB       Tony Conner, Ole Miss (146)

DB       Dominick Sanders, Georgia (145)


DL        Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss (102)

DL        Deatrich Wise, Arkansas (95)

DL        Cece Jefferson, Florida (85)

DL        A.J. Jefferson, Mississippi State (84)

LB        Lorenzo Carter, Georgia (92)

LB        Richie Brown, Mississippi State (84)

LB        Arden Key, LSU (76)

DB       Marcus Maye, Florida (139)

DB       Marlon Humphrey, Alabama (120)

DB       Johnathan Ford, Auburn (105)

DB       Armani Watts, Texas A&M (74)


First Team

P          JK Scott, Alabama (252)

PK        Daniel Carlson, Auburn (198)

RS        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (214)

AP        Christian Kirk, Texas A&M (240)

Second Team

P          Johnny Townsend, Florida (124)

PK        Adam Griffith, Alabama (174)

RS        Evan Berry, Tennessee (163)

AP        Alvin Kamara, Tennessee (152)

Third Team

P          Trevor Daniel, Tennessee (97)

PK        Elliott Fry, South Carolina (91)

RS        Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia (100)

AP        Isaiah McKenzie, Georgia (112)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Oregon State OL Drew Clarkson retires following surgery for tumor