Big 12 won’t have divisions in 2017

Once again, the Big 12 conference is making headlines. Shortly after deciding against conference expansion, the Big 12 has decided against divisions in 2017 and has determined that simply the top two teams in the conference will play for the title.

“There are a number of advantages to matching our top two teams,” commissioner Bob Bowlsby said in a statement.

“Given our round-robin, nine-game scheduling model, it is expected the Big 12 champion will be uniquely positioned for College Football Playoff consideration. I would argue there will be no path more difficult than our champion’s, where it will have played every team in the Conference, faced at least one Autonomy Conference non-conference opponent, and then plays in our championship game. The guaranteed No. 1 vs. No. 2 matchup will be a great game for our fans, and it’s hard to imagine a stronger position for a conference champion.”

Of course, everything comes with some complications.

It will be interesting to see how this all plays out.

For now, next year’s championship game does not get a site. The Big 12 is looking at Dallas, San Antonio, and Kansas City as host cities for the big game.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Florida State WR Bobo Wilson out for Clemson game
Florida State WR Bobo Wilson out for Clemson game