Syracuse basketball names ineligible players from previous seasons

The NCAA previously announced the Syracuse basketball program must vacate 101 wins from previous seasons due to playing multiple ineligible players. Now, we finally know who those players were.

Chris Carlson of shared some information regarding the vacatedwins, indicating the Syracuse basketball media guide for the 2016-17 season placed asterisks next to players’ names to indicate they were ineligible at the time.

Those players were Terrence Roberts, Billy Edelin, Mookie Jones, Dion Waiters and Fab Melo.

Most of the violatins that occurred dealt with academics and tutoring, while other small gifts were provided like $300 for a speech that was later repaid. A full breakdown of the violations, along with a photo of the media guide and quites from some of the figures involved, can be seen in Carlson’s piece.

Syracuse opens its 2016-17 campaign on Friday, Nov. 11 against Colgate at the Carrier Dome. The Orange will then participate in the Brooklyn Hoops Holiday Invitational and ACC/Big Ten Challenge.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Syracuse Basketball, Twitter

Maryland women’s basketball team beat opponent by 129 points