Minnesota football program suspends 10 players indefinitely

The Minnesota football team will be heading to its Holiday Bowl match up with Washington State without nearly a dozen of its players.

Late Tuesday night, it was announced that the Golden Gophers have suspended ten players indefinitely from team activities. The news came from Joe Christensen of The Star Tribune.

“Due to privacy restrictions relating to student educational data, there is nothing further the University can share,” a statement from the university read.

The ten suspended players are defensive back Ray Buford, running back Carlton Djam, quarterback Seth Green, defensive back KiAnte Hardin, defensive back Dior Johnson, defensive lineman Tamarion Johnson, running back Kobe McCrary, defensive back Antonio Shenault, quarterback Mark Williams and defensive back Antoine Winfield Jr.

According to Adam Rittenberg of ESPN, the suspensions came after the university filed its findings from a Title IX complaint. From Rittenberg:

A source tells ESPN that the indefinite suspensions Minnesota imposed against 10 football players all stem from an alleged incident Sept. 2 at an off-campus apartment involving a female student. Four Gophers players were suspended earlier in the season while police investigated the incident, but all were reinstated when Hennepin County decided not to press charges. Those players and an additional six players were suspended today as a result of a Title IX complaint and a report filed by the university’s Office of Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action.

Bufard, Hardin and the Johnsons were previously suspended for a violation of team rules.

We will update the post with more information as it becomes available.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

ESPN host thinks Rams should target Nick Saban
ESPN host thinks Rams should target Nick Saban