James Franklin wins Woody Hayes Coach of the Year Award

Penn State football coach James Franklin has been rewarded for his impressive turnaround of the Nittany Lions during the 2016 campaign.
On Tuesday, Franklin was named the winner of the Woody Hayes Coach of the Year Award presented by the Touchdown Club of Columbus. It’s the first time a Nittany Lions head coach has received the award since Joe Paterno in 2005.
Franklin was also named the Sporting News National Coach of the Year following the season, along with being a finalist for the 2016 Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year award as presented by the Football Writers Association of America,  AP National Coach of the Year and the Paul “Bear” Bryant Award.
Penn State finished the season with an 11-3 record, Big Ten Championship and Rose Bowl appearance.
Next season, a majority of the Nittany Lions’ star players return, so look for Penn State to once again be a major player in the national picture.
Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!
Photo Credit: Twitter/James Franklin

Clemson's Wayne Gallman declares for 2017 NFL Draft