magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

Washington State’s Luke Falk Wins 2017 Burlsworth Award


Washington State quarterback Luke Falk can add a new piece of hardware to his trophy case.

On Monday evening, it was announced that the star signal-caller was named the 2017 recipient of the Burlsworth Award. The award is given annually to the top player in college football who began his career as a walk-on.

It is the third season in a row that Falk was a finalist for the award.

The previous two seasons the award was given to Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield.

This season, Falk, who is the Pac-12 all-time leader for touchdown passes, finished the regular season for the 9-3 Cougars with 3,593 yards and 30 touchdowns.

The Burlsworth Award is named after former Arkansas offensivelineman Brandon Burlsworth, who passed away in a car accident shortly after being drafted by the Indianapolis Colts.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
  • You Might Like