Virginia Football: Micah Kiser Wins William V. Campbell Trophy

On Tuesday night, Virginia football standout Micah Kiser was named the recipient of the 28th annual William V. Campbell Trophy, presented by Fidelity Investments.
Kiser received the award at  the 60th National Football Foundation Annual Awards Dinner in New York City.
The award is given annually to the individual who exhibits the best in the country for his combined academic success, football performance and exemplary community leadership.
“Micah Kiser’s exceptional accomplishments on and off the field rank him among the best student-athletes in the history of our sport, making him the ideal Campbell Trophy recipient,” said NFF President & CEO Steve Hatchell in a statement.

“He truly embodies the scholar-athlete ideal and we are proud to have him as a member of this elite fraternity. He stands as the perfect example for the next generation to emulate.”
By receiving the award, Kiser will receive a $25,000 postgraduate scholarship.
Kiser was also a semifinalist for the 2017 Butkus Award.
In total, the NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class received $18,000 a piece for their postgraduate educations.
The full list of past William V. Campbell Trophy recipients can be seen below:

  • Chris Howard (Air Force, 1990 – College President)
  • Brad Culpepper (Florida, 1991 – Attorney)
  • Jim Hansen (Colorado, 1992 – Leader in Climatology Research)
  • Thomas Burns (Virginia, 1993 – Engineering Executive)
  • Robert Zatechka (Nebraska, 1994 – Physician)
  • Bobby Hoying (Ohio State, 1995 – Real Estate Executive)
  • Danny Wuerffel (Florida, 1996 – Non-Profit Executive Director)
  • Peyton Manning (Tennessee, 1997 – Retired NFL Player & Philanthropist)
  • Matt Stinchcomb (Georgia, 1998 – Insurance Executive and TV Broadcaster)
  • Chad Pennington (Marshall, 1999 – Non-Profit President)
  • Kyle Vanden Bosch (Nebraska, 2000 – Retired NFL Player)
  • Joaquin Gonzalez (Miami [Fla.], 2001 – Corporate Executive)
  • Brandon Roberts (Washington University in St. Louis [Mo.], 2002 – Physician)
  • Craig Krenzel (Ohio State, 2003 – Insurance Executive)
  • Michael Munoz (Tennessee, 2004 – Executive)
  • Rudy Niswanger (LSU, 2005 – Corporate Executive)
  • Brian Leonard (Rutgers, 2006 – Retired NFL Player & Philanthropist)
  • Dallas Griffin (Texas, 2007 – Corporate Executive)
  • Alex Mack (California, 2008 – NFL Player)
  • Tim Tebow (Florida, 2009 – Non-Profit Chairman, TV Broadcaster & Baseball Player)
  • Sam Acho (Texas, 2010 – NFL Player)
  • Andrew Rodriguez (Army, 2011 – Assistant Brigade Planner)
  • Barrett Jones (Alabama, 2012 – Broadcaster)
  • John Urschel (Penn State, 2013 – Ph.D. Candidate)
  • David Helton (Duke, 2014 – Financial Analyst)
  • Ty Darlington (Oklahoma, 2015 – College Football Assistant Coach)
  • Zach Terrell (Western Michigan, 2016 – Executive Development Associate)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Ex-USC Football Player Osa Masina To Serve One Year For Sexual Battery
Ex-USC Football Player Osa Masina To Serve One Year For Sexual Battery