Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists Announced

The Biletnikoff award, which goes to the nation’s top receiver, announced the ten semifinalists for the 2014 season earlier today.

The award is named after Fred Biletnikoff, who was an All-American wide receiver at Florida State. He was drafted by the Oakland Raiders in the 1965 NFL draft and became a six-time Pro Bowler in the NFL.

The list will be cut down to three on Nov. 24 and the winner will be announced on Dec. 11

In 1994, Penn State wide receiver Bobby Engram was the inaugural winner of the Biletnikoff award.

Past winners of this heralded award include Randy Moss, Larry Fitzgerald, Calvin Johnson, and Michael Crabtree. Crabtree and former Oklahoma State wide receiver Justin Blackmon are the only two to win the award twice.

Former Oregon State and current New Orleans saints wide receiver Brandin Cooks took home the hardware last season.

Below are the ten semifinalists.

Kevin White, WR, West Virginia: 91 receptions, 1,207 yards, 8 touchdowns.

Nelson Spruce, WR, Colorado: 99 receptions, 1,091 yards, 11 touchdowns.

Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama: 87 receptions, 1,303 yards, 11 touchdowns.

Rashad Grene, WR, Florida State: 75 receptions, 1,042 yards, 5 touchdowns.

Tyler Lockett, WR, Kansas State: 60 receptions, 878 yards, 6 touchdowns.

Nelson Agholar, WR, USC: 82 receptions, 1,079 yards, 10 touchdowns.

Rashard Higgins, WR, Colorado State: 67 receptions, 1,280 yards, 13 touchdowns.

Jaelen Strong, WR, Arizona State: 71 receptions, 982 yards, 9 touchdowns.

Vince Mayle, WR, Washington State: 86 receptions, 1,152 yards, 9 touchdowns.

Sterling Shepard, WR, Oklahoma: 50 catches, 957 yards, 5 touchdowns.


The favorite to win the 2014 Biletnikoff award is Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper. The Miami native has been virtually unstoppable¬†this season and is expected to be the first receiver taken in the 2015 NFL draft. At this point, it’s his to lose.

Another favorite to win the award is West Virginia receiver Kevin White. NFL scouts believe he will also be taken in the first round of the upcoming NFL Draft.


*Section Photo credit to Winslow Townson, Getty Images; Featured Photo (above) credit to Marvin Gentry, USA Today Sports. 

Everett Golson Suffered Shoulder Sprain