Broyles Award Finalists Announced

The Broyles Award, given to the nation’s top assistant coach, announced their five finalists on Monday. The winner will be announced on Dec. 9.

The five finalists are Oregon offensive coordinator Scott Frost, Alabama offensive coordinator Lane Kiffin, Ohio State offensive coordinator Tom Herman, TCU offensive coordinator Doug Meacham, and Missouri defensive coordinator Dave Steckel.

Kiffin has rejuvenated the Tide’s offense and has done a masterful job with quarterback Blake Sims. Alabama is 11-1 and looking ahead to the SEC championship game against Missouri this Saturday,

Meacham oversees one of the most potent offenses in the country. TCU ranks No. 3 in the country in points per game (46.1), No. 5 in total offense (525.8 yards per game), and No. 8 in passing offense (315.4 per game).

Steckel is the only defensive coordinator on the list and deservingly so. The Tigers are ranked in the Top-20 in multiple defensive categories and clinched the SEC East division for the second straight season. Missouri boasts one of the best defensive end combinations in Shane Ray and Markus Goldon who will have their hands full this weekend against Alabama.

Oregon’s offense has once again been dominant under the guidance of offensive coordinator Scott Frost. Led by quarterback Marcus Mariota, the Ducks rank in the Top 10 in scoring offense and total offense. Oregon is looking forward to their rematch against the Arizona Wildcats in the Pac-12 championship.

The Buckeyes have posted another great campaign, winning at least 11 games for the third straight season. Much of that has to do with offensive coordinator Tom Herman. Herman was hired to lead the offense under head coach Urban Meyer and has done a great job since arriving in 2011. After quarterback Braxton Miller went down with injury, the Buckeyes had to transition to freshman quarterback J.T. Barrett. Barrett led the Buckyes to an 11-1 record and threw for 2,834 yards, 34 touchdowns, and 10 interceptions. However, Barrett also went down with a season-ending injury and Ohio State will now have to turn to sophomore Cardale Jones for the Big 10 championship game against Wisconsin.


*Section Photo credit to Jonathan Quilter, Columbus Dispatch; Featured Photo (above) credit to Christopher Hanewinckel, USA Today Sports.

Patrick Mahomes Named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week
Patrick Mahomes Named Big 12 Offensive Player of the Week