Frank Kaminsky wins John R. Wooden Award

Wisconsin Badgers seven-footer Frank Kaminsky has added another piece of hardware to his trophy case, adding to his storied legacy as the most decorated player to ever make his way through the university’s basketball program.

Most recently, Kaminsky has claimed the John R. Wooden Award.

Kaminsky edged Duke’s Jahlil Okafor, Kentucky’s Willie Cauley-Stein, Notre Dame’s Jerian Grant and Ohio State’s D’Angelo Russell to win the award.

With the USBWA (Oscar Robertson Award), Associated Press Player of the Year Award and Naismith Trophy already his, the Wooden Award becomes Kaminsky’s fourth national player of the year award.

Frank Kaminsky is also the current Big Ten Player of the Year.

This season, Kaminsky averaged 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 1.5 blocks per game.

Meanwhile, the Wisconsin Badgers went on an impressive run through the 2015 NCAA Tournament which included a win over the previously unbeaten Kentucky Wildcats. Wisconsin ultimately fell to the Duke Blue Devils in the national championship game.

Wisconsin, the regular season and Big Ten tournament champions, finished the season with a 36-4 record.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to Steven Branscombe-USA TODAY Sports