UNC, Northern Iowa agree to begin 3-year series

While North Carolina deals with the recent NCAA Notice of Allegations, Roy Williams continues to fill out his schedule for the upcoming season.

The Tar Heels have reached an agreement with Northern Iowa to begin a 3-year series this upcoming season.

UNC is returning a majority of their roster, including Marcus Paige, Brice Johnson, Kennedy Meeks, Joel Berry II, Nate Britt, Isaiah Hicks and Theo Pinson, from last season’s Sweet 16 team that failed to get past Wisconsin.

The Tar Heels are projected to be a top three team in the preseason poll and are expected to win the ACC as well as compete for a National Title.

This will certainly be a nice addition to Northern Iowa’s non-conference schedule. Mid-majors have difficulty scheduling high-quality opponents because normally these power five schools don’t want to travel to an arena where they are capable of losing. They view it as non-beneficial and definitely hurtful when it comes to recruiting (if they do lose).

As far as the Panthers roster, they will lose Nate Buss, Deon Mitchell and Seth Tuttle but they do return Wes Washpun, sharp shooter Jeremy Morgan, Paul Jesperson and Matt Bohannon.

Ben Jacobson’s teams are always gritty and tough so this will not be an easy three wins for Williams’ squad.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Kentucky fans name daughter after Willie Cauley-Stein