Conor McGregor wins interim UFC featherweight title

UFC 189 is in the books and it will go down as one of the greatest events of all-time. The highly anticipated main event bout featuring Irish sensation Conor McGregor delivered, with McGregor upending top-ranked challenger Chad Mendes via second-round TKO.

Many people wanted to know whether McGregor would be able to handle a wrestler of Mendes’ caliber and he proved the doubters wrong.

McGregor viciously attacked Mendes’ body in an effort to tire him down. That plan seemed to work as Mendes tired and was unable to pass guard once he got McGregor to the mat. McGregor eventually worked back to his feet and delivered a devastating left to end the fight and earn the interim title.

It was a special performance from McGregor and sets up a future title unification bout with Aldo.

The full UFC 189 results can be seen below.

Main Card

Conor McGregor def. Chad Mendes via TKO (strikes) at 4:57 of R2 to win interim featherweight title
Robbie Lawler def. Rory MacDonald via TKO (punches) at 1:00 of R5 to retain welterweight title
Jeremy Stephens def. Dennis Bermudez via TKO (flying knee, punches) at 0:32 of R3
Gunnar Nelson def. Brandon Thatch via submission (rear-naked choke) at 2:54 of R1
Thomas Almeida def. Brad Pickett via knockout (flying knee) at 0:29 of R2

Preliminary Card

Matt Brown def. Tim Means via submission (guillotine) at 4:44 of R1
Alex Garcia def. Mike Swick via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
John Howard def. Cathal Pendred via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Cody Garbrandt def. Henry Briones via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Louis Smolka def. Neil Seery via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
Cody Pfister def. Yosdenis Cedeno via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)