Media makes predictions for the Mountain West Conference

A culmination of accolades and final season standings for the upcoming college football season has been composed for the Mountain West Conference by its media.

Out of the 11 conferences that represented the BCS last season, the Mountain West completed their 2014-15 campaign seventh overall (79-77, 3-4 in bowl games).

Speaking on terms of individual teams, Boise State went on to defeat Brian Burrell’s Fresno State Bulldogs in the conference championship, 28-14.

Individual Player Pre-Season Honors

Offensive P.O.Y. – WR Rashard Higgins (Colorado State)
Defensive P.O.Y. – LB Kyler Fackrell (Utah State)
Special Teams P.O.Y. – K Donny Hageman (S.D.S.U.)

Projected Standings by First Places Votes and Total Points

Mountain Division
1. Boise State (28) 177
2. Utah State (2) 150
3. Colorado State 108
4. Air Force 90
5. Wyoming 64
6. New Mexico 41

West Division
1. San Diego State (27) 177
2. Fresno State (3) 141
3. Nevada 113
4. San José State 91
5. Hawai‘i 70
6. UNLV 38

QB Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State
WR Rashard Higgins* Jr. Colorado State
WR Devonte Boyd** So. UNLV
RB Donnel Pumphrey* Jr. San Diego State
RB Marteze Waller** Sr. Fresno State
OL Marcus Henry* Sr. Boise State OL Rees Odhiambo** Sr. Boise State
OL Alex Fifita Sr. Fresno State
OL Ben Clarke Sr. Hawaiʻi
OL Pearce Slater Sr. San Diego State
TE Steven Walker* Sr. Colorado State

DL Eddie Yarbrough* Sr. Wyoming
DL Alex Hansen** Sr. Air Force
DL Kamalei Correa* Jr. Boise State
DL Ian Seau** Sr. Nevada
LB Tanner Vallejo** Jr. Boise State
LB Kyler Fackrell Sr. Utah State
LB Nick Vigil* Jr. Utah State
DB Weston Steelhammer* Jr. Air Force
DB Donte Deayon** Sr. Boise State
DB Darian Thompson* Sr. Boise State
DB Damontae Kazee** Jr. San Diego State

P Alex Boy** Sr. Nevada
PK Donny Hageman Sr. San Diego State
Ret. Carlos Wiggins Sr. New Mexico

Since it was adopted as a conference in 1999, the Mountain West was the first to establish a sports television network, which dedicated its programming around one conference. In further accomplishments, the conference – with headquarters staked in Colorado Springs – was also a revolutionary in experimenting with coach’s replay and the first non-automatic-qualifying BCS program to attend four bowl games, going three-for-four.

Original Members of the Mountain West

Air Force
BYU (departed the conference in 2011 in favor of being an Independent)
Colorado State
New Mexico
S.D. State
Utah (exited in 2011 to compete in the Pac-12)

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Read More: