Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award watchlist released

It has been quite some time since we have seen a preseason award watchlist, but the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award ended that streak by announcing their 30-player watchlist for the annual award.

The Unitas Award is presented annually to the best college senior or fourth-year junior quarterback — which causes some top-tier signal-callers to miss the list.

Some of the most high-profile names on the watchlist are Michigan State’s Connor Cook, USC’s Cody Kessler, Kevin Hogan of Stanford, Florida State’s Everett Golson, Trevone Boykin of TCU, Utah State’s Chuckie Keeton, Oregon graduate transfer Vernon Adams and many more.

North Dakota State’s Carson Wentz is also on the list, making him the only FCS quarterback on the list.

The full preseason watchlist can be seen below:

Vernon Adams, Oregon
Brandon Allen, Arkansas
Tommy Armstrong, Nebraska
Mike Bercovici, Arizona State
Trevone Boykin, TCU
Jacoby Brissett, NC State
Connor Cook, Michigan State
Brandon Doughty, WKU
Blake Frohnapfel, UMass
Everett Golson, Florida State
Taysom Hill, BYU
Kevin Hogan, Stanford
Driphus Jackson, Rice
Matt Johnson, Bowling Green
Chuckie Keeton, Utah State
Cody Kessler, USC
Gunner Kiel, Cincinnati
Fredi Knighten, Arkansas State
Joe Licata, Buffalo
Paxton Lynch, Memphis
Maty Mauk, Missouri
Dak Prescott, Mississippi State
Keenan Reynolds, Navy
Nate Sudfeld, Indiana
Zach Terrell, Western Michigan
Justin Thomas, Georgia Tech
Chad Voytik, Pittsburgh
Carson Wentz, N. Dakota State
Marquise Williams, North Carolina
Travis Wilson, Utah

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Alabama DB Cyrus Jones determined to prove himself
Alabama DB Cyrus Jones determined to prove himself