Things got a little heated at the ASB Classic in Auckland, New Zealand Wednesday when Naomi Broady accused her opponent Jelena Ostapenko of intentionally throwing her racket at a ballboy.
The incident came in a second-set tiebreak, Broady made her case to the official, calling for Ostapenko to be disqualified.
The ballboy was summoned to tell his side of the story and eventually tournament referees and officials assigned a code violation to Ostapenko, who had insisted all along that it was an accident and her racket “slipped.”
Broady seemed overly upset by the lack of discipline, but still rallied to win the match. All was not forgot post-match however, as the two had to be separated by the chair umpire.
Broady said after the match, “Jelena said to (the chair umpire) it slipped from her hand so it was just a code violation or something. On the replay it is quite clear, but that’s tennis and I managed to keep myself together quite well.”
Not sure if Ostapenko intentionally threw her racket at the ballboy, although she did definitely mean to throw it, but it just went in the wrong direction. Hence she plays tennis, not softball.
*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports