Home Lifestyle Texans' J.J. Watt wins Deacon Jones Award

Texans’ J.J. Watt wins Deacon Jones Award


Houston Texans star defensive end J.J. Watt has won this year’s Deacon Jones Award as the NFL’s leader in quarterback sacks, according to NFL.com.

“An individual award is never individually earned,” said Watt. “This honor is a testament to my teammates and coaches for helping me to be successful each week. I am humbled and honored to receive the Deacon Jones Award and I will always continue to strive toward new heights of greatness.”

Watt had 17.5 sacks on the season and became the seventh player to lead the league in sacks twice since the stat became official in 1982. He already has 74.5 sacks for his career and is only 26 years old, so definitely count on him to remain one of the NFL’s elite pass-rushers for the foreseeable future and, in all likelihood, take home this award again.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -