Dabo Swinney wins Bear Bryant Award

Clemson head coach Dabo Swinney is the winner of the 2015 Bear Bryant Award, college football’s equivalent of coach of the year.

Swinney was a finalist alongside UNC’s Larry Fedora, Iowa’s Kirk Ferentz, Houston’s Tom Herman, Stanford’s David Shaw and Navy’s Ken Niumatalolo.

It isn’t at all a surprise that Swinney won, given how his Tigers were undefeated in the regular season before defeating North Carolina to win the ACC. Clemson then made the College Football Playoff as the No. 1 seed and took down Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl before losing to Alabama in the national championship game earlier this week.

Sure, Swinney couldn’t bring the championship home, but Clemson’s 14 wins this year were a school record and the future is bright for the Tigers. On top of that, 2015 marked the fifth consecutive year that Clemson had at least 10 wins.

That said, Swinney is more than deserving of the honor and it looks like he’ll be succeeding at Clemson for a good long time.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

2016 NFL Draft Rankings: Top 10 running backs
2016 NFL Draft Rankings: Top 10 running backs