NFL Rookie of the Year finalists announced

The finalists for 2015 NFL Rookie of the Year have been announced and they are Tampa Bay Buccaneers quarterback Jameis Winston, Oakland Raiders wideout Amari Cooper, Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley, Kansas City Chiefs cornerback Marcus Peters and Seattle Seahawks receiver Tyler Lockett.

Todd. Amari. Marcus. Jameis. Tyler.

VOTE for the @pepsi Rookie of the Year:

— NFL (@NFL) January 19, 2016

Needless to say, it’s a tighter race than it seems. Winston threw for 4,042 yards and 22 touchdowns, not at all bad despite completing just 58.2 percent of his passes and also tossing 15 interceptions. He also added 213 rush yards and six touchdowns on the ground, so his case is strong.

The same can be said for Cooper, the former Alabama standout who immediately improved the Raiders’ offense with his 72 catches for 1,070 yards and six touchdowns. His season had its ups and downs, but he adjusted to the NFL beautifully and should only continue improving.

And how can Gurley be forgotten? He missed the first two games of the season recovering from ACL surgery and still rushed for 1,106 yards and 10 touchdowns.

But then there are the curious cases of Peters and Lockett. Peters tied for the NFL lead with eight interceptions and ran two back for touchdowns and though Lockett only had 51 catches for 664 yards, he had six touchdown catches and was a force on special teams, returning both a punt and a kickoff for touchdowns.

What do you think, fans? Who should be the Rookie of the Year? Leave your thoughts in the comments section below!

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports