magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

CFP Committee welcomes four new members


The College Football Playoff Committee has welcomed four new members to its ranks in former Michigan coach Lloyd Carr, former Central Michigan coach Herb Deromedi, former Southern Miss coach Jeff Bower and Oregon AD Rob Mullens. The addition of the quartet was reported on Twitter by Fox Sports’ Bruce Feldman.

It’s easy to see why Carr and Mullens were added. One runs an athletic department whose football team has what it takes to regularly contend for a national championship, and the other is a legendary coach from a top program who also has a national championship to his name.

But Deromedi and Bower are the two interesting additions in this case. Both were head coaches at fine programs, but mid-majors compared to a majority of the pack. But let’s not forget that 2015 was, arguably, the year of the mid-major, with a MAC program in Toledo defeating an SEC squad in Arkansas and Northern Illinois, also of the MAC, going toe-to-toe with Ohio State.

That said, perhaps this is a sign that programs from the MAC, Conference USA and the like could soon start getting more support amongst the committee. These teams are improving more and more with each passing year and to just keep them out of the playoff discussion could prove a Power 5 bias, so why not bring in former coaches who know the mid-major landscape?

Either way, the 2016 just became a lot more interesting now that these four have been added to the committee.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

  • You Might Like