Cam Newton becomes first Heisman to win NFL MVP since Barry Sanders

At the NFL Honors gala on the eve of the Super Bowl Saturday night, Panthers quarterback Cam Newton was named the NFL Most Valuable Player. In being named MVP, he becomes the first player since Barry Sanders to win both the Heisman trophy as a collegiate player and the NFL MVP as a professional.

Sanders won the Heisman while at Oklahoma State in 1988 and then the MVP as a member of the Detroit Lions in 1997, although he shared the honor with Brett Favre that year. Therefore Newton is the first to win both the Heisman and MVP award outright since Marcus Allen won NFL MVP in 1985.

It’s quite the feat as not even his Super Bowl counterpart and football legend Peyton Manning can’t count that among his (long) list of feats. Also, Newton becomes the first quarterback to accomplish the feat.

Players to win Heisman Trophy and NFL MVP:

  • RB Paul Hornung
  • RB O.J. Simpson
  • RB Earl Campbell
  • RB Marcus Allen
  • RB Barry Sanders
  • QB Cam Newton

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA TODAY Sports

Top 5 Super Bowl dynasties
Top 5 Super Bowl dynasties