Kirby Hocutt could receive extension thanks to CFB Playoff clause

This year, Texas Tech athletics director Kirby Hocutt  will take over duties as chairman of the College Football Playoff selection committee.

Hocutt’s term is currently set to expire after the 2016 college football season, but a report from Heather Dinich of points out a College Football Playoff clause that could lead to Hocutt receiving a one-year extension.

Of course, there is no timeline for a decision on Hocutt’s term, but it will likely come later this year before the end of the season.

“Members will not be eligible for re-appointment, but a member’s term may be extended one year if the member would serve as chair in what otherwise would be his/her final year,” College Football Playoff executive director Bill Hancock said, via

“This being Hocutt’s final year on his term qualifies Hocutt for the one-year extension, which would allow him to fill that role again in 2017. Selection committee members typically serve three-year contracts, which means the bulk of the selection committee is entering their final year on their respective contracts, but Hocutt was not a founding selection committee member. This will be just his second season on the committee.”

Hocutt replaces Arkansas athletic director Jeff Long as the committee chair and fills the vacancy left by West Virginia’s Oliver Luck.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA Today Sports

Braxton Miller praises Cris Carter for help training for NFL Combine