Home Football Deshaun Watson, Christian McCaffrey semifinalists for Sullivan Award

Deshaun Watson, Christian McCaffrey semifinalists for Sullivan Award


Before the 2016 season even gets started, Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey and Clemson’s Deshaun Watson are already up for an award.

The 16 semifinalists were announced on Monday for the Sullivan Award, which is awarded to the country’s best amateur athlete. A college football player has one the last two years, and McCaffrey and Watson are looking to make it three straight. Though, only eight college football players have won the award since its inception.

Other semifinalists for the award are Andrew Benintendi (Arkansas baseball), Ben Simmons (LSU basketball), Nirra Fields (UCLA basketball), Kelsey Minato (Army basketball), Breanna Stewart (UConn basketball), Mikaela Foecke (Nebraska volleyball), Ashleigh Johnson (USA Water Polo), Keenan Reynolds (Navy football), Derrick Henry (Alabama football) Jordan Burroughs (USA Wrestling), Adeline Gray (USA Wrestling), Jamie Greubel Poser (USA Bobsled), Jordan Wilimovsky (USA Swimming), Brittany Bowe (USA Speed skating) and Simone Biles (USA Gymnastics).

The 86th annual Sullivan Award will be handed out on April 10 in New York. You can vote for the winner now on the award’s official website.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to USA Today Sports


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -