magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-down

NCAA Lacrosse 2016: Salisbury tops Tufts for DIII championship


Tufts lacrosse was in search of its third consecutive Division III national championship on Sunday, but the Salisbury Sea Gulls were able to end that bid with an incredible 14-13 win over the Jumbos.

Salisbury was lifted by hat tricks fromĀ James Burton and Nick Garbarino en route to the title, which was the program’s first since 2012.

Tufts entered the national championship as the reigningĀ the New England Small College Athletic Conference regular-season and tournament champion, riding a 14-game winning streak. Salisbury, theĀ Capital Athletic Conference championship, came into the game with a potent offense that had outscoredĀ opponents by a whopping 60-27 margin in the postseason.

Ultimately, it was the red hot offense of Salisbury — which netted eight unanswered goals in the second half — that allowed the Sea Gulls to capture the title atĀ Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia on Sunday.

Congratulations to Salisbury lacrosse on its latest national title!

Canā€™t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us onĀ Twitter,Ā FacebookĀ and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit toĀ Salisbury Athletics

    Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
    • You Might Like