magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-down

North Carolina wins 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse championship


The North Carolina Tar Heels are national champions.

On Sunday afternoon, the Tar Heels women’s lacrosse team claimed the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship by upending the Maryland Terrapins, 13-7.

This is the second national championship for the UNC women’s lacrosse team, with their first coming in 2013. Maryland jumped out to an early 1-0 lead in the game, but six straight goals from the Tar Heels gave them the insurmountable lead.

Things really heated up for North Carolina in the second half, after scoring two quick goals to extend their lead.

The most impressive performer of Sunday’s national championship matchup was Molly Hendrick, who netted a hat trick for the Tar Heels to give them the final advantage.

Congratulations to the North Carolina women’s lacrosse program.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to Twitter/@NCAA_Lax

    Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
    • You Might Like