NCAA lacrosse results 2016: UNC wins Division I title over Maryland

On Monday afternoon, the North Carolina Tar Heels and Maryland Terrapins went head-to-head for the NCAA lacrosse national championship at Lincoln Financial Field in Philadelphia.

It was an action-packed affair between two of the top teams in the nation with plenty of lead changes, but when the final whistle blew it was the Tar Heels who came out on top, 14-13 in overtime, to claim the 2016 NCAA lacrosse national title — joining the women’s team which won over the weekend.

The game went down to the wire, with the Terps and Tar Heels tied at 13 goals a piece with less than two minutes to go.

Both teams had incredible opportunities to take the lead, but clutch saves kept the score even as time ticked away. The greatest chance to earn the game-winner came from Maryland’s Colin Heacock in the closing seconds, but the ball fell just short of the goal with 3.9 seconds remaining.

Despite a late charge from Maryland, the game headed to sudden victory overtime. During regulation, Heacock, and UNC’s Luke Goldstock and Chris Cloutier led the way for their respective teams with hat tricks.

In the sudden victory period, North Carolina was able to weather an early storm from the Terps while being a man down before threatening with an incredible chance of their own. Maryland made a miraculous save to prevent the North Carolina shot attempt, but Maryland was called for a cross check after the play was whistled dead.

After the penalty, the Tar Heels kept on the pressure and Chris Cloutier — who had five goals on the day and a tournament record 19 — came through with a screaming goal to clinch the national title.

Congratulations to North Carolina and all of its fans.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

*Featured Photo (above) credit to Twitter/@NCAA_LAX

Here is the field for the 2016 Women’s College World Series
Here is the field for the 2016 Women’s College World Series