Illinois, Northwestern headline State Farm Chicago Legends event

Another of the many in-season college basketball tournaments was announced on Thursday when the field for the State Farm Chicago Legends event was set. Two of the four teams come from the Big Ten as Illinois and Northwestern don’t have to travel too far to compete while Dayton and BYU both make trips to the United Center.

The State Farm Chicago Legends tournament field was revealed on Thursday with the four programs set to compete beginning on December 17. It should be a pretty fun event as all four teams should be fighting for a spot in the NCAA Tournament this season.

The Flyers are the only team to have made the tournament last season, while the Cougars fell just short of making the field. Both teams should be in the tournament this year, especially BYU since they get Eric Mika and T.J. Haws back from Latter Day Saints missions.

As for the two Big Ten programs, the Fighting Illini look to rebound from a disappointing season as Malcolm Hill, a top scorer in the conference, looks to lead the team back to prominence.

The Wildcats, on the other hand, are looking to make their first ever NCAA Tournament appearance.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Former Baylor star Rico Gathers defends alma mater amidst scandal
Former Baylor star Rico Gathers defends alma mater amidst scandal