Home Football 2016 Doak Walker Award watch list headlined by Fournette, McCaffrey

2016 Doak Walker Award watch list headlined by Fournette, McCaffrey


Earlier in the day, the 2016 Davey O’Brien Award watch list was unveiled. Now, it’s the running back’s turn as the preseason Doak Walker Award watch list was unveiled.

Headlining the watch list is LSU star Leonard Fournette and Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey.

Last year, Fournette  led all FBS running backs with 162.8 yards rushing per game.

McCaffrey, meanwhile, broke Barry Sanders’ NCAA record for all-purpose yards, totaling 3,864 all-purpose yards on the season.

The award, which was given to Alabama’s Derrick Henry last season, is delivered annually to the top running back in college football. The winner of the 2016 Doak Walker Award will be named on Dec. 8.

The full 2016 Doak Walker Award watch list can be seen below:

Josh Adams, Notre Dame
Saquon Barkley, Penn State
Jamauri Bogan, Western Michigan
Joel Bouagnon, Northern Illinois
Matt Breida, Georgia Southern
Shannon Brooks, Minnesota
Algernon Brown, BYU
James Butler, Nevada
Nick Chubb, Georgia
Jordan Chunn, Troy
Corey Clement, Wisconsin
James Conner, Pittsburgh
Dalvin Cook, Florida State
Marcus Cox, Appalachian State
LeShun Daniels, Jr., Iowa
Justin Davis, USC
Matthew Dayes, North Carolina State
Jela Duncan, Duke
D’Andre Ferby, Western Kentucky
Tarean Folston, Notre Dame
D’Onta Foreman, Texas
Leonard Fournette, LSU
Jarvion Franklin, Western Michigan
Royce Freeman, Oregon
Wayne Gallman, Clemson
Myles Gaskin, Washington
Damien Harris, Alabama
Paul Harris, Hawaii
Kyle Hicks, TCU
Brian Hill, Wyoming
Dontrell Hilliard, Tulane
Brandon Holloway, Mississippi State
Elijah Hood, North Carolina
Jalen Hurd, Tennessee
Johnny Jefferson, Baylor
Aaron Jones, UTEP
Charles Jones, Kansas State
Markell Jones, Purdue
Ronald Jones II, USC
Xavier Jones, SMU
Alvin Kamara, Tennessee
Ray Lawry, Old Dominion
Phillip Lindsay, Colorado
Shock Linwood, Baylor
Marlon Mack, South Florida
Devante Mays, Utah State
Christian McCaffrey, Stanford
Elijah McGuire, Louisiana-Lafayette
Sony Michel, Georgia
Taquan Mizzell, Virginia
Khalfani Muhammad, California
Terrell Newby, Nebraska
Arkeel Newsome, Connecticut
Jacobi Owens, Air Force
Samaje Perine, Oklahoma
Donnel Pumphrey, San Diego State
Devine Redding, Indiana
Larry Rose III, New Mexico State
Bo Scarbrough, Alabama
De’Veon Smith, Michigan
Justin Stockton, Texas Tech
Shaq Vann, Eastern Michigan
Ke’Shawn Vaughn, Illinois
Anthony Wales, Western Kentucky
Kody Walker, Arkansas
Warren Wand, Arkansas State
Chris Warren III, Texas
Mike Warren, Iowa State
Tre Watson, California
Ralph Webb, Vanderbilt
David Williams, South Carolina
Jamaal Williams, BYU
Rawleigh Williams III, Arkansas
Stanley Williams, Kentucky
Nick Wilson, Arizona
Shaun Wilson, Duke
Marquis Young, Massachusetts

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

- Advertisment -

Must Read

Hottest Female News Anchors In The World

The news industry is booming with a whirlwind of events taking place across the world. With the wide range of politics, sports, and news...
- Advertisment -