2016 Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists announced

On Monday, the 2016 Jim Thorpe Award semifinalists were announced.

There were 16 semifinalists for the award, which is given to the top defensive back in college football.

The three Thorpe Award finalists will be named on Monday, Nov. 22 and the winner will be crowned at the College Football Awards on Dec. 8 airing on ESPN.

The Big Ten leads all conferences with four 2016 Thorpe Award semifinalists, while the SEC has the second-most representatives with three. The Mountain West, PAC-12 and ACC each have two players on the list, while the Big 12, Conference USA and Independents have one a piece.

The full list of semifinalists for the Jim Thorpe Award can be seen below:

  • Jaire Alexander, Louisville, So.
  • Budda Baker, Washington, Jr.
  • Travon Blanchard, Baylor, Jr.
  • Justin Evans, Texas A&M, Sr.
  • Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama, So.
  • Malik Hooker, Ohio State, So.
  • Adoree’ Jackson, USC, Jr.
  • Desmond King, Iowa, Sr.
  • Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, Sr.
  • Kai Nacua, BYU, Sr.
  • Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, Jr.
  • Weston Steelhammer, Air Force, Sr.
  • Cordrea Tankersley, Clemson, Sr.
  • Tre’Davious White, LSU, Sr.
  • Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, Sr.
  • Andrew Wingard, Wyoming, Sr.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

LSU has set new offensive record in every game since Les Miles firing
LSU has set new offensive record in every game since Les Miles firing