2016 Bednarik Award semifinalists announced

On Monday, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced the 2016 semifinalists for the 22nd Chuck Bednarik Award for the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year.

A selection committee will look over the group of semifinalists and name three finalists on Nov. 22. A winner will then be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show, which will be broadcast live on ESPN on Dec. 8.

Headlining this year’s list of semifinalists is Michigan do-it-all man Jabrill Peppers, Texas A&M defensive end Myles Garrett and Alabama linebacker Reuben Foster.

A total of 18 semifinalists were named; nine seniors, six juniors and three sophomores.

The full list of 2016 Bednarik Award semifinalists can be seen below:

First Name Last Name Position School Year
Jonathan Allen DE Alabama Senior
Reuben Foster LB Alabama Senior
Carl Lawson DE Auburn Junior
Cordrea Tankersley CB Clemson Senior
Christian Wilkins DE Clemson Sophomore
Jarrad Davis LB Florida Senior
Desmond King CB Iowa Senior
Arden Key DE LSU Sophomore
Tre’Davious White CB LSU Senior
Jabrill Peppers LB Michigan Sophomore
Nate Gerry S Nebraska Senior
Ejuan Price DE Pittsburgh Senior
Solomon Thomas DE Stanford Junior
Derek Barnett DE Tennessee Junior
Myles Garrett DE Texas A&M Junior
Hunter Dimick DE Utah Senior
Zach Cunningham LB Vanderbilt Junior
Budda Baker S Washington Junior

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Jabrill Peppers, Twitter

Tennessee’s Jonathan Kongbo not transferring, presumably stinks at FIFA
Tennessee’s Jonathan Kongbo not transferring, presumably stinks at FIFA