2016 Butkus Award semifinalists announced

As the 2016 college football season begins to dwindle down, awards around the nation are closing in on winners. For the Butkus Award, given annually to the nation’s top linebacker, that meant announcing the 12 semifinalists for the honor on Monday morning.

The list is loaded with standout talent like Alabama’s Reuben Foster, Raekwon McMillan of Ohio State and Texas’ Malik Jefferson.

The complete list can be seen below:

  • Ryan Anderson, University of Alabama
  • Jerome Baker, The Ohio State University
  • Kendall Beckwith, Louisiana State University
  • Jack Cichy, University of Wisconsin
  • Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt University
  • Jarrad Davis, University of Florida
  • Reuben Foster, University of Alabama
  • Malik Jefferson, University of Texas
  • Josey Jewell, University of Iowa
  • Micah Kiser, University of Virginia
  • Raekwon McMillan, The Ohio State University
  • Azeem Victor, University of Washington

The list of semifinalists will be dwindled down to three finalists which will be named on Nov. 21.

A committee will then determine the winner which will be announced live on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show airing Dec. 8 on ESPN.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Reuben Foster, Instagram

Report: Tennessee RB Jalen Hurd to transfer, switch positions
Report: Tennessee RB Jalen Hurd to transfer, switch positions