2016 Maxwell Award semifinalists announced

On Monday, Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski announced the 2016 semifinalists for the 80th annual Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year.

A selection committee will look over the group of semifinalists and name three finalists on Nov. 22.

This year’s semifinalists are a loaded group of players, including Heisman front-runners Lamar Jackson of Louisville and Michigan do-it-all star Jabrill Peppers.

The full list of 2016 Maxwell Award semifinalists can be seen below:

First Name
Last Name
Jonathan Allen DE Alabama Senior
Jalen Hurts QB Alabama Freshman
Deshaun Watson QB Clemson Junior
Dalvin Cook RB Florida State Junior
Lamar Jackson QB Louisville Sophomore
Leonard Fournette RB LSU Junior
Jabrill Peppers ATH Michigan Sophomore
Mitch Trubisky QB North Carolina Junior
J.T. Barrett QB Ohio State Junior
Baker Mayfield QB Oklahoma Senior
Dede Westbrook WR Oklahoma Senior
Saquon Barkley RB Penn State Sophomore
Donnel Pumphrey RB San Diego State Senior
Christian McCaffrey RB Stanford Junior
Trevor Knight QB Texas A&M Senior
Patrick Mahomes II QB Texas Tech Junior
Jake Browning QB Washington Sophomore
Luke Falk QB Washington State Junior

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Nick Saban on LSU: This is an undefeated team to me
Nick Saban on LSU: This is an undefeated team to me