magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

2016 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award final five announced


As we near the end of the 2016 college football season, the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award — given annually to the nation’s most outstanding senior or fourth year quarterback — has announced its final five candidates.

“If Johnny Unitas was still with us he would have been proud of the selection committees’ belief, trust and great job in identifying these college quarterbacks’ that best represent what he stood for,” said ESPN analyst Mel Kiper in a statement.

The five finalists for the award — which excludes Louisville signal-caller Lamar Jackson — can be seen below:

  • Luke Falk, Washington State
  • Patrick Mahomes II, Texas Tech
  • Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma
  • Mitch Trubisky, North Carolina
  • Deshaun Watson, Clemson

What do you think of the final five quarterbacks up for the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award? Sound off in the comments section below with your thoughts and predictions.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
  • You Might Like