Big Ten announces Friday night schedule for 2017 football season

The Big Ten is adding a Friday night schedule for the 2017 college football season as part of its new TV deal. On Tuesday, the conference unveiled its complete schedule which does not include teams like Michigan and Penn State, who told the conference they did not want to participate in the Friday night games.

“As a result of the Conference’s new television agreements, every Big Ten football game over the next six years will be nationally televised by ABC/ESPN, FOX or BTN. Of the approximately 600 games scheduled to be broadcast by our television partners in the next six years, 36 games (6 per year) will occur on Friday night,” the Big Ten said in a statement.

“While not all institutions are able to participate in Friday night matchups, all 14 institutions will participate in the broad initiative to provide more primetime exposure on national platforms.”

The complete Friday night schedule for 2017 can be seen below:

  • Fri., Sept. 1 Washington at Rutgers
  • Fri., Sept. 1 Utah State at Wisconsin
  • Fri., Sept. 8 Ohio at Purdue
  • Fri., Sept. 29 Nebraska at Illinois
  • Fri., Oct. 13 Northwestern at Maryland
  • Fri., Oct. 27 Michigan State at Northwestern

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

UCF’s Drico Johnson named defensive player of the week
UCF’s Drico Johnson named defensive player of the week