magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-down

2016 Davey O’Brien Award semifinalists announced


As the 2016 college football season nears its end, candidates for some of the sport’s most prestigious awards. On Thursday, the Davey O’Brien National Selection Committee announced its 18 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award, given annually to the nation’s top quarterbacks.

It is the first time more than 16 names appear on the semifinalist list, but two of the players have suffered season-ending injuries and will ultimately be ineligible for the award.

The list includes five seniors, nine juniors, two sophomores and two freshmen.

The 18 semifinalists are (in alphabetical order):

J.T. Barrett (Ohio State), Jake Browning (Washington), Sam Darnold (USC), Jerod Evans (Virginia Tech), Luke Falk (Washington State), Jalen Hurts (Alabama), Chad Kelly (Ole Miss), Lamar Jackson (Louisville), Trevor Knight (Texas A&M), Patrick Mahomes II (Texas Tech), Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma), Mason Rudolph (Oklahoma State), Wilton Speight (Michigan), Zach Terrell (Western Michigan), Mitch Trubisky (North Carolina), Greg Ward Jr. (Houston), Deshaun Watson (Clemson) and Davis Webb (California).

The Davey O’Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will release the names of the three finalists on Tuesday, Nov. 22. The 2016 Davey O’Brien winner will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, Dec. 8.

Who do you think should take home this year’s award? Sound off in the comments section below.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

    Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
    • You Might Like