magnifier menu chevron-left chevron-right chevron-up comment chevron-up chat_bubble_outline2 share thumbs-up thumbs-down chevron-down

2016 Ray Guy Award semifinalists announced


As the 2016 college football season nears its end, some of the best players in the nation are receiving recognition for their efforts on the field.

The latest award to announce its semifinalists is the Ray Guy Award, presented annually to the best punter in the nation.

On Friday morning, the Augusta Sports Council and the Ray Guy Award committee announce the ten semifinalists. Here is how the semifinalists are chosen by the comittee:

The candidates were evaluated by the Ray Guy Award committee on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on number of punts, gross average, net average, percent inside the 20 and percent not returned.

The ten semifinalists can be seen below:

  • Austin Barnes (Jr.), Eastern Michigan University
  • Nicholas Conte (Sr.), University of Virginia
  • Steven Coutts (So.), University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • Joseph Davidson (Jr.), Bowling Green State University
  • Michael Dickson (So.), University of Texas
  • Hayden Hunt (Sr.), Colorado State University
  • Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State University
  • Zach Sinor (So.), Oklahoma State University
  • Johnny Townsend (Jr.), University of Florida
  • Mitch Wishnowsky (So.), University of Utah

A national voting body of Football Bowling Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 22.

Voters will then vote again to decide the winner who will be announced live Dec. 8 at the The Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta.

Can’t get enough of Campus Sports? Follow us on TwitterFacebook and Instagram to stay updated with the latest news and exclusive giveaways!

Photo Credit: Twitter

Josh studied journalism at Seton Hill University. He is currently the Editor-in-Chief of Campus Sports. Josh is currently a member of the FWAA and USBWA. His work has been featured on Sports Illustrated,,, and many others.
  • You Might Like